Accept Your Reality

image

Given the name of my blog, it is funny we start with reality. As my sidebar says, the definition of reality is the true situation that exists. Embrace it. Love it. Live it.

I see so many people today fighting what is or desiring something different, focusing on the what-if and the if-only in their lives. Reality is what it is. The quicker wan can accept our reality the happier we will be. And I know from experience that once you accept your reality the easier it will be to transform it into what you want it to be.

What is your view on the letter A: ACCEPT YOUR REALITY?

Leave a comment, write a post on your blog and ping back to me or tag your post with “ABC’s of Happiness” so I can find you in my reader.

Until next time … be thinking about the letter B: Be present. Be bold.

12 responses

  1. Hmmm, accepting my reality would be: I am mentally ill, which is not something I disclose to everyone. Some days are bad, some are good and others shatter me emotionally and mentally. That is something that will never change, but as other areas in my life change I know it will be easier to handle.

    1. Wouldn’t you say it is easier to address your illness once you accept it though? I do think that people who accept problems in their life have a better chance of addressing them and therefore being happier at the end of the day. I hope today was one your good days!

      1. I’ve accepted it, but that doesn’t mean it gets easier. I can manage some things better now than I used to, but it’s a day to day thing. It’s not a problem, it’s a mental illness.

  2. It is what it is…one of my favorite sayings, yet sometimes a tough pill to swallow. There are so many people telling you to go out and do it bigger, better, don’t settle! Are we settling for less, or just trying to keep up with the Jones? It’s exhausting honestly, so easy to get so wrapped up in the feel good moment of a fantasy or a “what if” it’s easy to see right past reality, literally the life right in front of your eyes. Reality is the everyday life, our families, children, jobs, and everyday responsibilities. I’m guessing it’s really up to each of us to decide whether or not to embrace it or fight it without feeling defeat or loss. There is so much to be grateful for.. That is my accepted reality

    1. I guess the key is to define and distinguish the difference between reality and fantasy. I think we all fantasize and rarely does the fantasy come true. But should it? The fantasy will not be a fantasy anymore if it becomes your reality. Then what?

  3. “The quicker wan can accept our reality the happier we will be”. Such a profound phrase. You can definitely apply this to both good and bad times. The sooner we come to accept the hand of cards we’ve been dealt, the sooner we will be able to make the most of what we’ve got and the situation we’re in. But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t challenge our reality. We can, but we just have to know when to stop trying and move on, move with the tides.

    1. Yes, we definitely need to challenge our reality and change our path in life, change is always good. I hope you can stop in with your comments from time to time.

  4. I have always believed this…I am a firm believer that the things we choose to focus on defines our reality. *smile* Oh, I could talk your ear off on this subject.

    1. Thanks Aaron for stopping by ..so hard sometime to accept what is and instead focus on what could be. and I welcome my ear being talked off 🙂

      1. How very Van Gogh of you. (The missing ear, I mean) Keep in touch

  5. Hmmm, I might have to “accept the reality” that this little challenge might not really be for me 🙂
    I’m not a very philosophical person, and that is the reality that I have learned to accept, and I’m quite happy about it!

    1. Haha…you don’t have to be philosophical …just opinionated. 🙂 We all interpret things differently.

Leave a Reply

