How’s Your Game?

Don't Blame the Sinner“The Chess Queens” by Muriel Streeter

Don’t blame the sinner
The one dressed in black
They both play the game
Sliding forward and back

Don’t praise the angel
The one dressed in white
Just like the sinner
She’ll capture your knight

The queen is your lady
With the most power of all
She’ll protect all you have
Or she’ll just let you fall

Your rook and your bishop
They can both dance around
While the squares are the same
This is not common ground

Do you worship the Devil
and deliver his sin?
Or do you trust in our God
who has cleansed us within?

You are the pawn
And this life is a game
For both black and white
The end is the same

The King will decide
But don’t sit and wait
You can be in check
Or you can checkmate

**********
This was written for the Speakeasy #149
Beginning with “Don’t Blame the Sinner”
And referencing the picture “The Chess Queens” by Muriel Streeter

speakeasy1

Vote for me here on Thursday!

23 responses

  1. I love your poem and very clever use of the prompts.

    1. Thanks! Was kind of iffy for me …I’m not a chess player 🙂

  2. Looks like poetry is the way many of us have chosen with this prompt 🙂 Nice take!

    1. So far it seems. I’m looking forward to the story writers though!

  3. Nicely done! I’m enjoying all the poetry that came from this.

    1. Thank you 🙂

  4. Great job with the prompts, and I love your poem! I have to tell you I also love that phot of you we click on to link up with you, it’s really great, Monique!

    1. Lol…thanks! The photo reminds me that life does not have to be so serious … all the time.

  5. Wonderful rhythm here and I loved the penultimate para,”You are the pawn
    And this life is a game
    For both black and white
    The end is the same” 🙂
    Well done!

    1. Thank you – I considered skipping this week .. it bored me at first .. then stumped me!

    1. Thank you 🙂

  6. This is great! I’m really impressed! Great job Monique!

    1. Impressed? That’s all I need 🙂 Thanks!

  7. The Midnight Thief | Reply

    Awesome finale! I liked how you gave the Pawn willpower and the ability to control the outcome between Check or Checkmate. 🙂

    1. We all need to remember we are in control ..

  8. I almost went the poetry route on this one, too! I’m not a chess player, but I kinda-sorta know the pieces. I like the stanza about the pawn the best 🙂

    1. Thanks! I enjoy being part of the group ..and seeing all the different directions.

  9. I love your poem, it’s Awesome! Beautiful words, smart usage of the prompt and awesome rhyming. Also, I liked the ending very much, where the pawn has a choice and not just a chess piece taking commands. 😀 Way to go (Y)

    1. Thank you!

  10. This is wonderful, Monique! Love the metaphor, love the imagery, love the rhythm of your poem. Great take on the prompts!

    1. Thank you Suzanne!

Leave a Reply

