Our Only Purpose

th

the world and its characters are always confused
without tangible things our egos are bruised
performing for others a sinister lie
lying in bed we then ask ourselves why

money is evil and one day we’ll learn
we don’t need it all and we won’t crash and burn
we know the difference between right and wrong
we don’t have to be criminals just to belong
no one could ever know what happened here
when there were no rules no remorse and no fear
life could be simple with no inner wars
if we cherished the sun and the moon and the stars
take a deep breath and be thankful today
that you have the choice to go your own way
you don’t have to impress me or another
just live for our God my sister and brother
*********************
Written in response to the Speakeasy #148
speakeasy1

Using the words “No one could ever know what happened here”
and the video prompt One Republic – Counting Stars

28 responses

  1. This is wonderful ,Monique. You are absolutely right. I agree with everything you’ve said in your poem.
    Ranu

    1. Thanks. The prompts on thespeakeasy have been interesting. Don’t you think so?

    1. Thank you! This one took me a while 🙂

  2. Great post..love love love that song:)

    1. Hi! Funny .. I had never heard the song until this challenge. But it is beautiful.

    1. Thanks. I keep having fun .. so I will stick around!

  3. Lovely take on the prompts, Monique. Love, love, love your final stanza!

    1. Thanks a bunch. I just speak the truth 🙂

  4. I like how you worked in reference to the song. Less emphasis on money, and more focus on living for God would change the landscape of our world 🙂

    1. Amen to that.

  5. I sometimes wonder how easy my job as a teacher would be if the students just stopped having “inner wars.” took a deep breath, and found something worth believing in.

    1. Oh … I am not sure easy and teacher belong in the same sentence. Thanks to you for profession.

  6. This was just lovely!

    1. Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed 🙂

  7. Great job, I really liked the lines: “we know the difference between right and wrong
    we don’t have to be criminals just to belong”, fantastic job.

    1. Thanks! I will have some down time to read tomorrow. I can’t wait to see everyone’s take on these prompts!

  8. This was just wonderful…Thanks for sharing…

    1. Gee … Thanks, I am glad you liked it!

  9. Lovely take on the prompts, Monique! And a lovely vision of the world. 🙂

    1. Thank you. We definitely need to improve our overall vision these days.

  10. You are so right-loved your eloquence and I agree.The last para says it all 🙂 Great job Monique!

    1. Thank you – I’m reading today. Everyone did well. Will be tough!

  11. Not only lovely words, but they ring true. Love your take on the prompt!

    1. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

