I’m a Princess

image

As a participant in the Zero to Hero challenge my 16th task is to write a post based on today’s Daily Prompt::

Do you have a reputation? What is it, and where did it come from? Is it accurate? What do you think about it?

Oh Lord! When I read today’s daily prompt I chose to stay as far away from that as I could. And then my walls came crashing down on me when I read the challenge for today.

Sigh..where to start. I have worked for my company for more than twenty years. Even though i have to be somewhat of a bitch in my profession, I almost immediately got a reputation of being a “Princess”. I’m not really sure why. Maybe because I am so sweet and innocent? Probably not. Because I try to excel at anything I do, I usually do things well. I got the name “Princess” because over time everyone thought I could do no wrong. What a burden to carry all these years. Sometimes I just want to say “F@#% It”!

As I have aged I am almost sure I have graduated from “Princess” to “Queen”. I have had a memo on my desk for a few years from one of my managers that says:

I will do anything you say to do or any thing you ask of me, because you are the Queen”

And most recently one of the girls in the office cut something similar to this from a magazine and gave it to me:
image

When I retire, I am sure to receive my crown. It’s all in good fun …. I think 🙂

5 responses

  1. so…if you are now the “Queen”, does that mean that they bow down to you? 🙂

    1. Lol…not in the literal sense.

      1. that’s good to know…hope you have a great week-end!

  2. I guess in the grand scheme of things, there are worse reputations to have! As long as the princess means you’re generally right and not that you can’t do anything for yourself, I’d say that’s a pretty good reputation to have. Sound like many folks may respect you 😉

    1. Oh yeah .. did I mention I’m also the neighborhood drunk? (Kidding. So kidding)

Leave a Reply

