WARNING: I aM gOiNg To RaNt

nfl

As a participant in the Zero to Hero challenge my 5th task was to try out different themes.  Yay!  I got a break that day as I already have several themes saved.    My 6th task it is publish a post that includes a new-to-me element.  I am to use or embed something like a video, or a photo, an instagram or a tweet or a myriad of other options.   Yeah … No.  Not today.  You know what is a new-to-me element?  Ranting.  A post that is not proof read, does not apply punctuation and ignores grammar altogether.  (And for those of you who are thinking all of my posts are like that … Bite Me…this is the start of my rant)

I’m sick to my stomach.  I am a football fan.  I have compassion.   Now that you know that, this recent NFL Concussion Settlement is a crock of shit.  I’m angry.   As much as the spectators enjoy the sport, let us not forget that this is a profession for the athletes.   This is the chosen profession and the athletes are paid very well.   They are paid to hit hard and paid to take hard hits.   They are not forced to do this anymore that I am forced to set at a desk and stare at a computer while my ass grows larger day by day.  It is a choice.  And now, the NFL is responsible for paying these athletes in the aftermath for the choices they have made?

Can I sue my employer for the poor vision I will suffer in a few years for staring at a computer all day?   Can I sue him for my large ass I look at every morning that has developed from sitting at a desk for the most part of eight to ten hours a day?   Can I sue him for my hearing loss I will sustain because of the headset I wear?   Huh?  I can’t hear you?  (Ok, just kidding).   The answer is “No”.  I can’t sue him for any of these things.  This is my profession that I have chosen, aside from the risks.  It is no different.   Wait, that’s not true, there is a difference.  The difference is that these athletes are getting paid millions of dollars to do something they love to do.   Something they have a passion for.  Something that they are driven by.   I read earlier today …”The issue of brain injury will haunt football as long as large men slam their helmeted heads into one another” …. It is not rocket science.  These athletes knew the risk when they signed on to play.  Just as the Nascar drivers know they can crash and burn.  Just as pilots know they can hit bad weather.   Just as office workers know they may develop a large ass.  It is a choice.  You chose the level of risk.

Okay, don’t scold me and say that the NFL is a 10-billion dollar a year business.   All companies large and small are in the business to make money.  We live and breathe in a capitalist economy.  This is what we are built on.    So no bullshit about how the NFL profits and so now they must pay.  They have already paid.  Good business is good business, they should not be penalized.   Besides, isn’t the athlete money driven as well?  Isn’t this why they take such a risk?

And how will money make a difference now?  Will the money somehow make these athletes accountable for the poor choices they made in life?   At what point does the athlete become accountable for his choices?  Instead of the NFL having to pay out on this “concussion settlement”, why don’t they take that money and offer bonuses to the young men who actually graduate with a college degree before entering the NFL?  With today’s draft, these athletes will have nothing to fall back on in the event of injury.  Then what?  Do they get to sue the NFL for depression and being homeless?  These are boys (not men) making choices.  And these are choices that the parents are encouraging these boys to make.  These boys can’t make these choices any more than they can manage they money they are about to be given.

And why should the family get to profit from the loss of their loved one?  It’s sickening.  Let them rest in peace for God’s sake.  Do you not have any morals?  Perhaps that is the problem to begin with, morals, or lack there of.  Were these athletes raised with morals? Do they have a relationship with God?   Do they respect their parents?  Headlines mentioned a recent lawsuit filed by the family of an athlete (team/athlete intentionally omitted) who shot the mother of his child (notice, I did not say his wife) and then shot himself.   Now the family wants to blame the NFL for this?  Do you think there may have been some moral issues that the athlete was dealing with?  Perhaps some emotional issues?  C’mon we all have issues.  We all screw up.  Be accountable.  Stop blaming others.  How in God’s name can the family justify benefiting from such a tragedy?  And remember the quarterback (team/athlete intentionally omitted) whose mistress shot and killed him?  I didn’t read about his wife suing the NFL for his being away from home so much that he hooked up with a mistress who eventually killed him.  Although, it is never too late I suppose.

I will stop my rant.  Why?  You ask?   Because it is my choice. Life and death are both about the choices we make.

4 responses

  1. Totally agree, it pisses me off too! I can’t just seem to understand how it’s okay, but yet we can’t do it. If we were to try this in a different employment setting, we would look stupid.

    Money makes the world go ’round though. It’s unfortunate, but true.

    1. MONEY …it’s the root of all evils.

      1. Truer words have not been spoken

  2. […] try to stay calm.  I don’t want to rant as I did on my sister blog Better Than Realty:  Warning I am Going to Rant.  But seriously, how can I not?    These are choices that these men have made.   They enjoyed […]

Leave a Reply

